Why I Like HyVee


Lately, my new job at HyVee has been all I can think about. I’ve been waiting all my life for an opportunity like this. I have an appointment at 10 AM Wednesday October 3 to talk with Andrea and Carol about when I’ll work and what time. So far Andrea said they’ll start me out bagging groceries. Seems like a simple thing and yet even that is very important. At Walmart I’ve seen that the cashiers always have to bag stuff besides taking people’s money and giving them change. Such a thing probably explains why it takes less time to check out at HyVee since everything moves faster with more people helping. In this way, in the same amount of time, HyVee can serve more customers and therefore make more money. People get out of their faster and get back to whatever it is they do in their lives.

I like the thought that I would be saving people time and yet I would be getting paid for it. I really want this to work. If I do well at HyVee then I could easily work there the rest of my life. All of a sudden I start thinking about how much I represent HyVee. As a customer, I already carry their canvas bags to carry what I buy. Without even thinking about it I have been advertising for them. Now I feel encouraged to buy the HyVee brands of things. Not only because they are usually cheap but because the success of HyVee directly affects me if my job is there. I’ve always liked shopping there anyway. It may not be as cheap as walmart but at least it primarily is a food store. It’s less crowded because you don’t have people buying computers,TVs,movies,furniture, or clothes.

All businesses depend on employees who can make customers feel welcome and get what they need. In a way it’s almost the same as the way that Christians should be. In fact, I find nicer people at a grocery store or a fast food restaurant than in most churches I’ve been in.

I’m excited about this job but still quite nervous. I want to do everything right. This is a game I cannot afford to lose. All my life we’ve been poor and I’ve been powerless to do anything to change it. I certainly need to earn the money.
But it’s also more than that. I will be around a lot of people, more than I ever have before and for much longer time than a few hours at church or the gamber center. Even though I feel like I have to impress people and prove that I can do a job well, I also am the worst actor the world has ever seen. I’m honest and tell the truth about whatever people ask me. The main benefit to this job is that nobody will really be talking to me except mostly the other employees and my managers.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

