Why do I look so young?


Why do I look so young?

Recently, I’ve been reminded a lot that I look like a teenager. See, at HyVee, there is a rule that no one under 21 can even touch alcohol products even to put them in someone’s cart. Therefore, even though I’m the person who is supposed to do that, they try to find someone else to do it who looks older. This goes on until I convince them that I’m 25.

I don’t usually complain about looking young. That seems to be what a lot of people want, but it does make me wonder what are the reasons. So far, I’ve tried to think up a few.

I have a hard time remembering the few men who were shorter than me. Even many women are taller than me. I don’t really mind being short because I don’t play basketball, although I do get annoyed that all the pants sold at walmart are too long for me.

I don’t act mean and tough like the majority of men do. Somehow being violent and cussing people out has become a symbol of manhood.

People think I’m ignorant because everything that they’ve learned or experienced in public school I’ve never really known because I was homeschooled since I was 9. No doubt I’m better off that I never learned Darwin’s theory of evolution, never had peers to act cool in front of, and don’t remember hearing anything about sex until I was around 14, and then it was in Sunday school at a Nazarene church.

I don’t eat junk food. I can’t tolerate foods that are extremely greasy or sugary. I can’t even eat peanut butter unless it’s the kind with no sugar added. This is just because my mom never fed me or my sister that junk.

I didn’t eat enough during my teenage years. This had a lot to do with not having enough money for food. Even when I was 20 I was around 155 pounds. I’m sure I didn’t grow exactly the way I was supposed to.

I don’t act mature(the modern synonym for boring). I can sing silly songs like Hit Me Baby One More Time. I can DDR dance, and I will tell the honest truth, not caring how it sounds to others just like a toddler can do.

I look deceptively stupid without meaning to. While I may not be able to detect sarcasm or match the colors of my clothes(according to my mom), I can still win at chess, arrange polygons in inkscape, or follow directions at my job.

If anyone else has more reasons why I might appear to be so young, leave me some comments, it might be entertaining.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

