New Machines


New Machines

Lately I’ve been reading a lot online and talked to an employee at walmart about all these new fancy things such as iphones,ipods,ipads,kindles, and nooks. It was sad to admit that I know nothing about these things. I feel old when I can’t keep up with all these new machines. I grew up in the 80s and 90s before these things were around.

I’m rather impressed with the Amazon Kindle from what I’ve learned. My mom and I have been talking about getting her something like that. She can read a book as fast as I can drink a can of pepsi. I used to think that ebooks were something only for those those people who want to save the trees by reducing the need for paper. But recently I feel like I’m being converted the cult of ebooks. I live with my mom in a tiny apartment. You can not imagine how many books she has in here.

I can see the advantage of having books all inside a tiny machine so that they don’t collect dust and she can read what she wants without searching the whole house to find it. Also, the cost of an ebook is significantly lower and sometimes even free if it’s in the public domain. There would be no waiting for it to arrive in the mail. It sounds like it may be a good mother’s day gift.

Besides saving the trees and space in here, it would also provide my mom unlimited entertainment. She won’t even notice whether I’m home or at HyVee.

Of course, the downside is not all books are available as ebooks, not yet anyway. I can see a world coming in which nobody reads real books anymore. It’s rather terrifying, but not as terrifying as what’s in my mom’s closet upstairs.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

