Great Commission


Some Christians seem to have misunderstood what they are supposed to be doing. They think that their job is to make a social club(church) and hang around only Christian friends. They avoid “sinners” so that they will not be corrupted or tempted to sin. However this is far from what Jesus did or told us to do.

In Matthew chapter 9, Jesus was criticized by the pharisees for eating with tax collectors and sinners.

Matthew 9:9 As Jesus went on from there, he saw a man named Matthew sitting at the tax booth.  “Follow me,” he said to him. And he got up and followed him. 9:10 As Jesus was having a meal  in Matthew’s house, many tax collectors and sinners came and ate with Jesus and his disciples. 9:11 When the Pharisees saw this they said to his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?” 9:12 When Jesus heard this he said, “Those who are healthy don’t need a physician, but those who are sick do. 9:13 Go and learn what this saying means: ‘I want mercy and not sacrifice.’  For I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

And Jesus told people to go out into the world and teach others about him and the things he taught.

Matthew 28:18 Then Jesus came up and said to them,  “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 28:19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit,28:20 teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And remember,I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Acts 1:8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the farthest parts  of the earth.”

Sadly, most people aren’t really teaching much of what Jesus taught. In fact, they are not even going to other nations. Their goal seems to be to invite people to church and then hope that somehow they’ll just magically discover that they need to be saved. It doesn’t really work because most people won’t survive the terrible worship music. Even if they did, the sermons are usually short and not filled with enough information for the average person to understand who God is and what it is they are to be saved from. Unbelievers who happen to come to a church are not taught much of anything nor do they make any true friends who will stay with them even if they decide that wasting time in a church building is not for them.

My suggestion to those in America who know very little about Christianity is to stay home and read the Bible yourself. You can learn a lot faster that way than you can listening to some preacher once a week. Now the different versions of the Bible are available not only in printed book form but also available as ebooks on all kinds of devices or even for free on many web sites for those who have internet access whether at home or maybe at a public library which also has the regular books.
A good link to start with would be
http://bible.cc/

But a word of warning, the Bible can be very dangerous. I know a preacher who said that the Bible is a love letter from God. This could really confuse people should they come across Psalms 137:9,Isaiah 13:16,Leviticus 25:44,Exodus 11:4-5,etc.

My view of the Bible is that it is like a Chinese buffet. Some things I like, some things I don’t, and most of the time, I have no clue what they are.

The old testament seems to make God sound rather cruel, but that is most likely because cruel humans were the ones who wrote it. A much better place to start would be the books of Matthew and Luke in the new testament. Matthew 5-7 and Luke 6 contain the bulk of what Jesus was teaching people. Even an atheist who doesn’t think there is a God or that Jesus ever existed may still agree with what he taught.

So right now my best suggestion is to read Matthew,Luke, and Acts. I tell people this because this is currently my own way of obeying the last instructions of Jesus. I’m still searching for the truth about God and I started this blog to help other people like me who are confused.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

