Should Math Be Taught in Schools


Should Math Be Taught in Schools

I recently came across a very thought provoking video on youtube.

This video made me think very deeply. As an extreme math nerd, I have noticed that “math” is such a controversial word with different meanings to different people. Even though I love arithmetic and geometry, I feel bad when I know that such things are forced on people who don’t enjoy them.

It is often very hard to communicate exactly what I mean when I talk about math. I have come to realize that my entire system uses only a tiny portion of what people call math. I could almost say that math is a religion. There are parts of it I believe in and other parts I don’t. For example I believe in whole numbers or integers but not irrational numbers such as Pi or the square root of two. I believe in circles because I cannot deny the fact that I see them all the time. But I don’t accept the silly formulas about calculating the area or circumference of them.

But how can I explain my reasons for accepting and rejecting these different things I have learned from various sources? Basically I think it is a matter of relevance. Since I only care about drawing the circle or counting the number of any object, I find anything else irrelevant. This can apply to any subject. I will only remember information which can be used for something I want to do. I think that basic arithmetic and learning to read and write are the only subjects that should be taught in any type of school. Anything else people want to learn they can learn from books, videos, or direct experience. We live in a time when information can be spread through the internet faster than ever before. This is what gives me some hope that generations to come may have a chance to grow up more educated.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

