Why believing God exists is irrelevant


When I refer to God as “it”, please understand that I am simply not using male pronouns to refer to God, because I feel as though this is placing a limitation on what God can or cannot be. It is not my place to assume God has a penis. People make many assumptions without any reason. They say that God is supernatural, omnipotent, or omniscient. If people knew what these words mean, they would not have used them because these three words often contradict each other.

The word “God” is rather meaningless. People may ask someone if they believe in God, but they assume that the person has the same definition of God that they do. Many people who do believe there is a God have different opinions on exactly what defines it. A definition must be given before someone can even think about it. Atheists can disagree on exactly what it is that they don’t believe in.

As an example, if someone were to define God as the creator of the universe, we would still be left with many questions. How did God create it, or more importantly, why? These are some good questions that people may ask. My own question is: Do I even know what the universe is? Can I believe in something when I am still unsure of what it is? Does God depend on its own creation to believe that it exists? God can exist, whether or not I believe or approve of it. It is not as though belief in something makes it true. A lack of belief doesn’t make it false.

If you don’t believe in God, it is not really the job of any human to try to convince you that it exists because, obviously, they don’t think it can show itself to you if it wanted to. If you do believe in God, then maybe you have a reason for it. No one should try to force you to give up your faith, knowledge, or experiences that led to them. If we were created by God, it obviously gave us brains. What harm can come from asking questions, reading books, or talking to others about what they believe? Why would God be angry at people for trying to learn?

Imagine if Steve were to ask Mary if she believed in Chandler Klebs. Mary would probably ask for a definition. Steve could say “A crazy man who writes about subjects he knows nothing about”. Mary could say, “That doesn’t make any sense! I don’t believe in Chandler Klebs!”. Steve would be giving a correct definition but Mary is also correct in that the definition doesn’t make sense. The trouble comes from the fact that Mary is assuming that people know what they are talking about before they write it down. I wouldn’t blame Mary for saying that the definition makes no sense but Mary assuming that I don’t exist also doesn’t make any sense. I am also unsure whether Steve and Mary exist or whether they believe in me or even talk about me. I doubt it, but I also cannot disprove it. It is entirely irrelevant to me whether they believe that I exist.

You can decide for yourself what your God is and if it is relevant to your life.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

8 thoughts on “Why believing God exists is irrelevant”

  1. Interesting thoughts here. I think the main thing here is, if a god existed, it would care to show itself to those interested in knowing if it does truly exist. Belief is a different matter, unless we are talking about knowledge which I hear the philosophers call justified true belief

      1. I feel the same. Humans are just plain weird the way they want to be worshipped. They assume that any creator of them has to be as egocentric as they are. This only leads me to the conclusion that everyone is their own god.

Leave a Reply

