Why believing a book is irrelevant


I think that some things written in books are irrelevant. To explain why, I will use the bible as an example. It is not as though I don’t think God could choose to use a book to reveal his will. Rather I think that people make a mistake when they establish a “canon of scripture” and decide that it is closed. Then it means they can’t listen to something new that God might be trying to say. I think God wants to be free to change. Anyone who takes a book such as the bible literally is reading a story of people doing things God commanded them not to do. Maybe he has to adapt his plan to communicate with people since some of his attempts fail. The overall point, though, is to remember that, even if there was a book written by God, that book could not take the place of God.

Someone could read my book titled “Confessions of a Confused Virgin” and then decide it was the infallible word of Chandler. Then a problem could arise if I became unconfused or was no longer a virgin. It would be a terrible mistake to assume that the opinions I had back then would forever stay the same.

Don’t get the idea that I am against books at all. In fact, I would encourage people to read books of any sort that may be relevant to you. No harm could come of you reading a book as long as you don’t make the mistake of taking it too seriously. People have always interpreted what they read based on their own experience. That is the only way that I can think to explain why people read the same book and have different reactions. They seem to interpret words to mean whatever they want them to mean. So generally, words and the books containing them become irrelevant. Still, the books have a certain power because if they were not written, then people would not be basing their lives on them. As an author, I want to make sure that the books I write communicate effectively what I am trying to say. A well written book should not need an “interpretation”.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

