Why “love” is irrelevant


Many times I have asked the question “What is love?”. People mean all sorts of different things when they use the word. Some people say that they are “making love”. Other people say “God is love”. How can a person make any sense of love when they are given totally different definitions which are entirely irrelevant to each other? The word “love” is used far too much and I think that it needs a more specific definition.

Sometimes, to get a better understanding of a word, it is a good idea to check a dictionary and see if it has an antonym. In this case, “hate” happens to be the antonym of love. For some reason, hate is understood better than love. Just think of hate as disliking something. Like and dislike of anything is simply an opinion someone has. They use love as a synonym for like and hate as a synonym for dislike. People do not always explain the reason why they like or dislike something.

I do not often say that I love someone. They may want to hear it, but I see it as a misleading term. I think that actions speak louder than words. There must be some better way to communicate that someone is relevant without using a word which means nothing.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

