Why sin is irrelevant


People’s failure to define sin has caused terrible confusion. Most people define sin as whatever someone does that they don’t like. Other people think that it is God who decides morality and can define sin. Still, no one can agree whether sin is something you are born with (original sin) or whether it is a choice. I don’t want to try to come up with my own definition because I think that for me to pretend that I know what sin is would be dishonesty, which I consider a sin.

But just for entertainment, imagine that sin is a choice. From where did we get the power of choice? Or more importantly, who chose to give us any choice? When someone realizes how little choice that humans actually have, they can clearly see how bizarre the idea of sin is. We cannot choose whether we are born, our gender, skin color, hair color, or height. As we grow up, I think that we do have some choice in tiny matters but those choices are still based on the resources we have available to us. A person born without arms would have a really hard time trying to shoot someone with a gun. Should we all be armless? A person born blind will never know what people look like and therefore cannot judge them by appearance. Should we all be blind? These are some serious questions people should ask. Maybe people would sin less if they simply didn’t exist. Either way, the sins of other people are irrelevant to me because I am far too busy enjoying my own sins.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

