Why communication is relevant


As I write on my blog and speak in my youtube videos, I am becoming more aware of how important it is to communicate well with people. As an autistic, communication with humans has never been my strong point. The thing that holds me back is that I do not like to accept the idea that a word can have more than one meaning. This is entirely different from arithmetic. The definition of a number cannot change. You cannot turn twelve into a synonym of seven and expect anything to make sense. Without the stability of mathematics, computers and the internet would not exist at all. The fact that English is the only human language that I can read and write in is a terrible limitation. However, because of the fact that it is the dominant language where I live, I am forced to write so that other people will understand exactly who I am, where I am coming from, and that there is a better way to live. I think it is important that I keep my individual books, blog posts, and videos relevant to the topic they are meant to communicate. Honestly, it is hard work. If there is anything that I would consider pure evil, it is someone intentionally communicating something that they know to be false.

People communicate not only by what they say but also by what they do not say. The very fact that I receive so little feedback on what I write often leads me to wonder why. I have no idea what someone thinks when they stay silent but I also remember the fear that kept me silent for twenty-five years.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

3 thoughts on “Why communication is relevant”

  1. This is very interesting. This post has challenged my assumptions about why some people are hesitant to communicate. I never would have guessed it was because they did not like to accept the idea that a word can have more than one meaning. You’re right, that is much different than mathematics.
    Although you say communicating with humans is not your strong point, I think this post is very informative and clear.
    Thank you for sharing!

    1. Thank you for the relevant comment. I just know that I cannot be the only one who has these thoughts. Sometimes people just need to know that they are not alone and they are not crazy just because they see things differently. When people comment it makes me feel like my life makes a difference and that makes me feel relevant!

Leave a Reply

