Why physical appearance is irrelevant


People’s bodies are all different shapes, sizes, and colors. Somehow people just instantly treat someone better or worse because they don’t like their appearance. There is no reason that people need to do this. Just ask a blind person. I am sure they would agree. Yet somehow people feel the need to know certain physical details before someone is even born. They find out someone is going to have a baby. The first thing people ask is “Is it a boy or a girl?”. If I was a parent and someone asked me this, I would be a little concerned over their unexplained interest in the genitals of my baby. But even as life goes on, they find new issues to make out of someone’s body. People are treated differently if they are fat or skinny, tall or short, young or old, male or female, etc. I fail to see how this is relevant to the character of the person, their talents, or how well they will perform at a job.

The trouble with judging based on appearances is not only that it is rude but also that people waste a lot of time and money trying to look a certain way to please other people. It never works since people have almost no control over how they look. Even if they did, who is qualified to set the standard of what someone should look like? Not once have I heard a good reason why I should care about the way someone else looks. Until this can be explained to me, it will remain irrelevant.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

3 thoughts on “Why physical appearance is irrelevant”

Leave a Reply

