Why labels are irrelevant


I hesitate to label myself with any religious or political terms. I think it can be dangerous to use a name to describe a person, or a whole group of people. It cannot be assumed that people have the same background, beliefs, or goals. Even if they live in the same city, go to the same church, work in the same grocery store, or even live in the same house. Everyone is different. I think it is better to learn about people rather than just finding out what religion they claim to belong to or which political party someone supports.

And I think also that people are often all too quick to just jump into a group. People want to belong to a group for the security it provides them. The trouble is that they try to conform to the way other people expect them to be. I perfectly understand why this is, but I do not see it as an honest way to live. If you learn to live as the person you know you really are, then others may reject you as a friend. They may even see you as a threat to their way of life. But it doesn’t mean you have to be alone forever. It just means that other people now have the chance to meet the new person you have become. They would miss out on that if you were still pretending to be someone you are not.

A challenge that I face, though, is that even though any label or name is useless at describing a person, people still use the labels. I suppose that it is because people like to simplify things.
For the intellectually dishonest, it is easy to just state that you have the same views as the majority on whatever the major debates are in your area. I don’t like to side with the majority, not only because it prevents change but also because, for some reason I have noticed that the most common opinion is usually wrong. It doesn’t make sense but it happens. Even if the entire population agrees on something, it does not make it true. A label can be a good thing to put into a Google search or a word to look up in a dictionary, but I know that there is no single label that accurately describes me, therefore, to me, all labels are currently irrelevant.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

