Why religion is irrelevant


It is relevant that I explain exactly why I spend as much time as I do on talking about religion. When I use the word “religion”, I am talking about it as the abstract concept which confuses people. I challenge religion not because of my disagreement with certain religions or people but because it hurts people and makes them feel guilt and shame when they cannot please other people.

There are countless messages that people are given. Things such as “God is good but EVERYTHING HE CREATED IS EVIL!”, “God loves you unconditionally as long as you DO EVERYTHING HE COMMANDS WITHOUT QUESTIONING!”, “Jesus had to die for you because you were born a sinner. HOW DARE YOU BE BORN, YOU EVIL CHILD OF GOD!”, or “Sex is a gift from God but if you EVER EVEN THINK ABOUT IT, THEN YOU WILL GO TO HELL!”. These messages continue to be given to people even though they make little sense. Worst of all, it is the children who are told such things while they are curious and learning about the world. If I were to quickly describe religion, I would call it mental suicide.

The greatest challenge I face is that while I want to undo the damage that religion has done to me and others, I do not yet know the best way to do it. My current way is to try to separate the things that I like from the other things which I want no part of.

To put it simply, I no longer accept that I must “take the bad with the good”. I dislike words such as “good” and “bad” because these words have been abused so much that they have no meaning anymore. Instead, I now decide which things are relevant or irrelevant to me. These words are much more relevant to me.

Religion is just one of those things that is irrelevant to me. The fact that it is relevant to others is the reason that I write about it. I do not want anyone to think that just because I hate religion that I am somehow against God or even the people who believe things which I disagree with. If it were not for the fact that so much of religion is used as an excuse for murder, rape, sexism, racism, or any thing else, then there would be no need to say anything.

I think that the subjects of God and sex are irrelevant to religion. They are entirely different. The goal of most of my writing is to disarm some of the dangerous religious people of the weapons they use. When they no longer can use God, sex, hell, or politics to control people, they will be forced to admit that they are accountable for their own actions. When that happens, religion will permanently be IRRELEVANT!

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

