Why shape is irrelevant


Even though I can sometimes be picky about geometric shapes, I also am aware that there is no standard that could say that a certain shape is more beautiful than another. Who is to say that a square is better than a triangle or that a pentagon is better than a hexagon. Since all polygons are made of lines, then one can’t be better than another. By what standard can a line be better than another line? If there is any shape that is special, it would be the circle. It has its uses but if all objects were perfectly round like a circle or its three dimensional form, the sphere, then things would be rolling all over the place. It would be a terror beyond imagination. I think the world needs a variety of shapes just as we need a variety of people.

It is relevant for you to understand that I am saying that shape is irrelevant in the context of beauty. Beauty is so undefined. If humans don’t understand that by necessity, things must be different in order for the universe to function, then there is no hope for any type of future. To call a geometric shape “ugly” is, to me, the most offensive thing that a person can say. It is identical to the way that people look at some woman and call her ugly, just because she doesn’t look at all like a woman in magazines or movies. By what sort of standard are you judging?

And a final note, to say that something is ugly is offensive to its creator! Even though I tend to say that a lot of things are irrelevant, to the artist, who produces something: A geometric shape from lines or curves, music out of sounds, or a book out of words, their creation is always RELEVANT! It does not mean that you have to like or agree with it but I think they deserve a certain amount of respect for the time and work that they put into it. This is something that it took time for me to learn. I think that in the past, I may have been very unthankful to those who had the best of intentions to help me, but I misunderstood. Understand that everything is relevant to something, but judging something before you understand it is exactly what causes things like racism, sexism, and other forms of hatred. So in the end, it must be understood that people are confused and often make mistakes, but learning from our past mistakes, can allow us to simply forget them so that they become IRRELEVANT!

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

