Irreligious


In case my recent irrelevant posts have not confused you enough, I would like to share some thoughts specifically about religion and God. I think that it is possible to separate God from religion. Sadly, this is a rather unusual idea that I don’t often hear about. I would like to share some labels that seem somewhat relevant to my current thoughts. Even though I have already stated that labels are irrelevant, the fact is that when trying to learn about new ideas, it can be relevant to have something to type into Google or another search engine. So below are some words and my general impressions of what they mean.

For the purposes of these definitions, I think that it is relevant to use some type of definition of God. In this case, let us assume that there is a creator who somehow is the cause of at least the planet earth that we are living in. Beyond that, nothing is assumed.

Atheism is a lack of belief in any God. This is the natural way babies are born into the world. It is also a quick solution to the problem of leaving a previous religion. Without God, other beliefs slowly can disappear. It is not the only option for the irreligious, but it is a way.

Deism considers the world to have been created by a God, but do not always hold to the same ideas as major world religions. The idea that God can be understood at least partially through reason and understanding the natural world, rather than through a holy book or set of rules. It is similar to atheism in that it often lacks the harmful beliefs that lead to guilt and violence.

Apatheism is basically not really caring that much about the existence of a God. To an apatheist, such belief may be too confusing or irrelevant to have any positive effect on their life.

Ignosticism is a belief that too much is often assumed about what God is to make any real sense of it. Without definition, it is hard to discuss it.

Those four terms above all have something in common. They are different from the common Abrahamic religions such as Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. The key difference is that it is not required to assume things such as God being much like a human. The idea of God being directly involved by rewarding or punishing humans for their sins requires that he be on the same level as humans.

I think that the traditional ideas that humans have about God could possibly be offensive to God if it does exist. This is entirely my opinion, but I do not assume that God is human, is male, or cares more about the planet earth than the rest of the universe. It seems to be placing a limit on what God can be or do. There could be a limit, but at this time I think that it is impossible to know.

I also do not assume that God can speak English, or would have any desire to use such a poor language to communicate. I cannot tell whether my ideas about God are influenced by God or if indeed I am just making up a God who is identical to me. I do not want to say that I am correct but only that I have a hope for a power greater than myself which makes perfect sense and ends all my questions.

I still don’t think that believing in a God has any relevance to most of the things I do in life, such as the music or food I like, or how much I like babies and animals. Still, it doesn’t stop me from questioning things.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

3 thoughts on “Irreligious”

  1. Maimonedes said that God exists and that and that’s the only truth that can be spoken of him.
    Every other statement was false. That makes him an ignostic, a term I haven’t come across before. Thanks.

    1. Most of these terms are something I had never heard of before the Internet. It makes it difficult to talk with other people who haven’t explored all the varieties of belief or unbelief. I am glad when I am able to explain things in my own words.

      1. I learned about Maimonedes in Jennifer Hecht’s DOUBT, an absorbing, well written history of doubt.

Leave a Reply

