Why Jesus is relevant


I cannot verify whether Jesus existed or was God, but there are some useful things which the bible claims that Jesus said. Some of the best are in the book of Matthew. That book is at the beginning of the new testament, in case you can’t find it. I want you to read these verses yourself if possible.

Matthew 7:21-23: Jesus states that doing the will of his father is required to enter the kingdom of heaven. People can do good works in his name but unless it is the will of his father, they are called workers of lawlessness.

Matthew 25:34-46: Jesus clearly states that feeding the hungry, watering the thirsty, welcoming strangers, clothing the naked, visiting the sick, and visiting the prisoners, is the same as doing these things for him directly. At the same time, not doing them for others is the same as not doing it for Jesus. Those who have done these deeds for Jesus enter the kingdom prepared for them. The others, who did not, go to an eternal punishment.

Matthew 6:1-4 Jesus warns against doing good deeds only to be seen by people. Those who do so already have their reward. It is impossible to be rewarded for doing good deeds only to earn a good reputation.

These verses say a lot about the Jesus that many people believe in. If Jesus was this type of person who wanted his followers to do good things for other people, then it tells me what I should look for in those who claim to be following his teachings. It also helps me ask myself questions about my own life. What is the result of my actions? Am I doing something for the right reasons? Do I have any interest in the “kingdom of heaven”? Anything that causes people to ask honest questions or do good deeds is relevant to not only my life but everything else on the planet.

I think that Jesus is in some way relevant. I do not know exactly what the connection is. Maybe it has something to do with his unorthodox teaching and his criticism of hypocrites.

I do not want to be one of those hypocrites. I will not pretend to understand or agree with everything written in the stories of Jesus. I still am unsure of many things. I can’t help but wonder, if Jesus were here today and could write down his words in modern English, I might understand a lot of things better.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

