Why debates are irrelevant


I have found that for the most part, no good comes from debates. When someone has an opinion on a matter and has already decided that they are right, it is impossible to convince them otherwise. I think that great good can come from honest communication, but this is not the same as a debate. When people are getting angry and insulting each other, then it is clear that they must stop talking at least until they calm down. While I certainly am very open about what I think, I would prefer to write about it rather than waste time fighting.

One thing I have learned, though, is that it is hard to avoid hearing about debates. I see politics as nothing more than people fighting about social issues. Most of the issues that people debate about would be irrelevant if people followed the golden rule. I certainly have no desire to get involved with confusing things but I am sad that so much time and money is wasted on debates that could be used to solve the problems that the debates are about.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

