Why atheism is relevant


Atheism is misunderstood by many people. It only means a lack of belief in any type of god or deity. It is a rather confusing term, but it is extremely relevant to understand it. The antonym of atheism is theism. Theism is also misunderstood. It could mean monotheism (belief in one God) or polytheism (belief in many gods). Whether “god” is capitalized depends on whether the word is used as a proper name. I get a little confused about whether I should capitalize it or not.

I do not think that a word such as “god” is well defined enough to know whether I can believe in such a thing yet. I still use the word sometimes when I am trying to explain something else which may be relevant to the existence or action of a god that other people believe in.

What must be understood is that atheism is NOT a belief, but a lack of it. This means that every human is originally an atheist even before birth. As I have said before, people do not agree on what defines a god. Often someone calls themself an atheist just to say that they reject the definition of a god they have heard about. It is a label that has no specific meaning but is often the best word someone can use if they are questioned.

Lacking a belief in one definition of what a god is does not mean that they don’t believe in another different definition. Since everyone has a different personality, there are as many “gods” as there are people.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

