Why hell is irrelevant


I spent so many years being afraid of hell that I think it is relevant for me to explain why I no longer believe in the religious idea of hell. Not only is the idea of burning forever the most painful thing that the mind can imagine, it is also so illogical that my mind CANNOT imagine it. It never did make any sense to me, but repetition can convince people of anything.

I was told by some former friends that “friends don’t let friends go to hell”. When these “friends” rejected me, I learned that not only were they not friends but that they also did not truly believe in hell. If they were concerned about people going to hell, they would spend more time preventing them from going there. Instead, they bring them to church where they can experience the musical hell of their “worship” songs. It may be true that burning for eternity sounds painful, but not as painful as hearing Contemporary Christian music performed by people with no musical talent for all eternity!

But there is another problem with the hell idea. Mainly the fact that the idea of a human burning forever without being consumed would clearly imply some type of supernatural miracle. It would require some type of God to first create this place of torment, then to intentionally create humans to fill it.
The hell teaching is scary enough on its own, but some Christians teach that, later on, this God changed his mind and decided that people could instead be tortured in another place called heaven, where they can reunite with many of the same Christians who abused them on earth. I wish that they could at least explain exactly what causes people to go to heaven or hell. Then I may have the knowledge to avoid both places.

In contrast to the teaching of the sadistic God, people are also told that there is a God who loves them unconditionally (as long as they meet certain conditions, of course) . How is anyone supposed to make sense of all this? I know I could not. It leads me to think that it is best for me to wait until a proper definition of God is given that makes sense. I challenge anyone to explain why God can’t simply love people unconditionally.

In my mind the story is too bad to be true. If it is true, then I am probably destined for one type of eternal torment or another. I can’t help but wonder why I was born on this earth instead of in hell to begin with. Just maybe God is too nice to burn me forever.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Why hell is irrelevant”

  1. I’m about to reply to your post on the presupposition that you accept the Christian faith, though do not accept all its “orthodox” teachings. That’s important because if you’re not a Christian you may as well disregard the following comment.
    The first two paragraphs made little sense to me, other than perhaps you began doubting the existence of Hell because a couple of friends rejected you. You also “cannot imagine” the stereotypical notion of Hell, which somehow is dissuasion to the belief in Hell but not Heaven, which is equally, if not more so, unimaginable. So I’ll look at what seems to be your first real point against the relevancy of Hell.
    Supernatural flames. It’s amusing to me that you come to the conclusion that Hell was created by “some type of God” because the flames of Hell have to burn but not consume the damned. Though both statements are true, one does not follow the other. Suppose a demon created Hell, why not Satan or an angel or some other demigod? One may as well follow the other if logic were so fallacious. But I’ll take the arguments individually, as follows.

    1. Supernatural flame. This one is simple. There is no scriptural support for the belief that physical bodies will be in Hell or Heaven for that matter. I can’t find it anywhere. This notion of physical bodies in Hell is more along the lines of Dante or the comic strip Farside. Neither of which is a credible source for the belief or disbelief in Hell. So, if there is fire in Hell it couldn’t consume anything, because there isn’t any material thing there. Furthermore, the notion of fire in Hell presented in scripture should not be taken literally. Look at James 3:5 and 6 where the tongue is said to be able to set fire to a forest. The point is not to say that there is literal fire coming from someones mouth, the point is to say that the tongue is destructive and can damage allot of people. The same concept should be applied to Hell, the “fire” represents spiritual destruction and suffering. You wrote in your first paragraph that being burned alive was the most painful you could imagine. That’s the whole point, when Jesus mentions the eternal fire, he’s making a point of the most destructive element in his day.
    2. Why did God create Hell?
    First and foremost, God created Hell for the demons who betrayed him, not people. This is more or less supported by the books of Revelation and Daniel in it’s entirety. Satan was cast our with a third of the Angels, a battle ensues, God wins and throws the demons into Hell which he created to contain the evil. God did create Hell and people are thrown into Hell, but he didn’t create hell before the fall of man just so he could throw them in there. But that brings about the question you alluded to.
    3. Why would an omnibenevolent God send people to Hell?
    Romans 9:22 “What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, 23 in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory.”
    I want to ask you that question in all seriousness because it has to do with the right of God. Does God have the right to make you anything he wants? Hath not the potter power over the clay to make one vessel unto honor and another unto dishonor? If he created you, it seems to be that he can do what he wants with you. Does this make God less loving or less just? It sure seems like it, I won’t lie just so I can win an argument with a stranger over the internet. But it is logical that God can do what he wills. Just as I can destroy and create my Lego’s anyway I want, God can create and destroy me anyway he so chooses. And the way I’ve come to grips with this idea of God and his unconditional love for humanity is by my understanding of Love, and that of Justice. Take them as you will.
    What do we mean by love? Because our standards of love always seem different than God’s. We (or at least I) tend to operate under the notion that love is providing the maximum amount of happiness to the loved. If I love someone, someone should be made happy. Simple and coherent, easy to operate under. But if that’s all love entailed, how then can we say a father loves his son when he is punished? Is he happier? Heavens no. The son learns that love doesn’t make him happy, love can suck sometimes because love is ,for a lack of a better term, limited by justice. The son must be punished so that he learns the cost of breaking the rules. God likewise loves his children, but he must put a cap on this love so that people don’t run rampant and kill or hurt each other. If there was no Hell, and only heaven, why should people not run around killing each other? How is morality established? God loves his children so much, that he’ll put people who don’t want to be with him so far away that they never can. God is Justice, and justice has a price.

    1. I actually appreciate that you even took the time to comment. It was actually more than a few friends. It was a whole youth group of people who pretended to be friends. There rejection of me is what cut the final chord that connected me at all with the so called “Christian” faith. I know that the way humans act has no effect on the existence of God or the existence of places like hell or heaven, but it did make me start questioning things.

      I have trouble with the idea that hell was created even for demons. It leads me to more questions such as who created Satan and the other demons? If they were created by God, then it further damages the trust I have in a God who creates things that have the potential for evil. I also do not understand your question the “right of God”. I see no reason that God could not make me in such a way that I could accept being such a slave.

      Your questions near the end of your comment were very interesting. You said:

      “If there was no Hell, and only heaven, why should people not run around killing each other? How is morality established?”

      These questions are asked far more often than you can imagine. First of all, I do not currently believe in either heaven or hell, but I think that the existence of places I cannot see is entirely irrelevant to whether or not I “run around killing” people that I do see. I see morality as something entirely different that does not depend on a belief in either God or an afterlife. Part of the trouble that I also find with the whole afterlife thing is that nobody can agree on what determines it. No one has dared to answer the question of where babies go when they die. I talked about some of that in this post.

      https://chandlerklebs.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/why-the-afterlife-is-irrelevant-to-this-life/

      Thanks again for taking the time to comment. I am quite open to talking about any subject. I would like to know more about what you believe and how you came across my post.

Leave a Reply

