Why the Golden Rule is relevant


The ethic that is commonly referred to as the Golden Rule is something that is known to many different cultures and religions. I think that, overall, the world would be a better place if the Golden Rule was followed by everyone. Sadly, not everyone is aware of this simple rule. To help with this problem, I would like to write it in my own words.

If there is something that I like others to do for me, then I do it for them. If there is something that others have done to me that I did not like, then I try to remember it to avoid making the same mistake.

It is also one that is believed by Christians to have been said by Jesus.

Matthew 7:12 Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them:for this is the law and the prophets.

Luke 6:31 And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.

It is a simple idea that does not require years of education to understand. It makes more sense to teach others morality by example rather than just giving them a long list of rules. It is a good idea that anyone can put into practice.

No matter what the origin of the Golden Rule is, I find it to be very relevant to everything that I write about. Is it not true that if this rule was followed by everyone, then things such as racism, sexism, and ageism would quickly become irrelevant? Is it not also true that Jesus would never have been crucified if people had thought about the fact that they would not want to be crucified?

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

One thought on “Why the Golden Rule is relevant”

Leave a comment