Definition of irrelevant


When I say that something is irrelevant, I mean that it is unrelated or unconnected to something else. I want to give a few examples:

People have a tradition of eating turkey on Thanksgiving Day. Some even call it Turkey Day. But turkey is irrelevant to this day. There are 364 other days in a year that you could also eat turkey.

Christmas is another good example. People celebrate the birth of Jesus and yet, at the same time, also talk about a fat old man in a red suit coming down their chimney. I see no connection between Jesus and Santa Claus. I would say that they are irrelevant to each other.

Groundhog Day makes no sense either. The shadow of a groundhog is irrelevant to how long the season of winter lasts.

Some things are relevant to one person but not another. The moon is very relevant to an astronaut who plans to travel there. A person who was born blind has never even seen the moon and would not understand what others are talking about. To the blind, the moon gives them no light and is irrelevant.

When I say that something is irrelevant, I mean that I have not experienced it or I do not find it to be relevant, related, connected, linked, applicable, germane, pertinent, appropriate, or important to my life at this time.

A lot of the things I mention as being irrelevant to me can be very relevant to someone else. Not everyone has the same brain or abilities as me. I do not wish that everyone were like me. What I have learned is that if there is even one thing that I and another person both relate to, then we are both relevant to each other.

The relevance that a subject has to me can change over time as I learn more about other people and what they find relevant. The relevance of a person is determined by how much I know about them and how honest they are. For this reason, relevance will never stay the same. It will increase or decrease.

Now that the definition is out of the way, you will know what I mean when I am saying that a topic is irrelevant. Not to discount the meaning it may have to other people but so that people can get past the small issues in life and start solving the problems we all face. It can be very relevant to talk about topics that are irrelevant. It helps people understand each other better. If you still don’t understand what it means to be relevant or irrelevant, I am sure that you will if you continue reading or listening to what I say.

Also, it never hurts to look the words up in a dictionary. During my writing, I used programs such as WordWeb and TheSage. Knowing what words I am using is very relevant!

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

