Why Joshua Tongol is relevant


At a time in my life when I was questioning certain things I had been taught in church or read in the Bible, I came across some videos and podcasts of a man named Joshua Tongol. I was amazed by his honesty. It is a trait that I did not usually see coming from people who use the label of Christian.

I care only about the honesty of a person. If a person tells me I am going to hell, I would only hope that they tell me why, what I can do about it, or why they wanted to tell me. If a person like Joshua Tongol tells me that God is nicer than I think, I will listen.

Josh also has a very well designed website.

http://joshuatongol.com/

I read Joshua’s book: “So You Thought You Knew: Letting Go of Religion”. I agree with him on some major points: We should not be fighting over the correct name for God, no particular religion has a monopoly on God, and we can focus more on the here and now instead of predicting who goes where when they die.

I will not bother labeling Josh, myself, or anyone else. It is best to read and listen to what they say and do. Then I can decide how relevant they are to me. I have found that people are not as different as they first appeared.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

1 thought on “Why Joshua Tongol is relevant”

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

