Why fighting abortion is relevant


It is very relevant that I explain my pro-life position and my own personal fight against abortion. I have already written about why abortion laws are irrelevant. This does not mean I am ending my fight against abortion. I am just getting started.

The fact that I am very pro-life or anti-abortion is so relevant to me that it had an influence on my rejection of religion. Religions often consider sex to be a sin. Since sex causes babies to be conceived, people have a motivation to hide the evidence that they did sex. By terminating the pregnancy in whatever way, this is possible to do.

But that is not the only way that religion promotes abortion. Religion can also come up with ideas such as abstinence-only sex education. If people think that they can just tell other people not to do sex and expect it to have any effect, then they obviously have failed to notice that telling someone not to do something often has the opposite effect of what they intended.

Maybe the religious people had the idea of preventing pregnancy to begin with. It would make sense that babies who have not been conceived can not be killed. However, if this is the case, then why do they spend their time picking on the homosexuals? After all, they are certainly not a contributor to pregnancy.
The abortion issue is probably one of the most relevant topics that I could possibly write about. The trouble is communicating that my pro-life status is irrelevant to any religious beliefs I have, or lack thereof.

I think about what it is like to be an unborn baby:
I feel safe, I know nothing about the world I will soon enter. And then, suddenly, something hurts me. I am not given a reason for this. I do not know who it is that is hurting me. I do not matter. I am not wanted, needed, loved, significant, important, connected, attached, belonging, or relevant.

That is what I feel. This feeling of being something to throw away. I know this feeling. I can relate to the unborn child. I can understand. I can connect. I am RELEVANT!

And now, I must speak for those who can not speak for themselves. Rather than waste time trying to make abortion illegal, I want to prevent the motives behind what causes it. I know that religion is only one of the reasons, but I consider it a source of the kind of irrational thinking that leads people to do things that they would not think of otherwise.

When I find out that someone has no trouble killing a baby, then I know that they also have no problem with killing me. The only difference between me and an unborn baby is that I learned I was not wanted by most of society after birth.
I am aware that the abortion problem is a very complex issue. I know that even those who have made the decisions to abort their children may not have wanted to. The solution is not as simple as telling people to stop killing babies. Effort must be made so that men are made to take some responsibility for the children that they helped produce. The financial problems and social expectations of other people certainly have an influence. But in the end, there is no excuse for killing a baby as if it was somehow responsible for the problems present in the world.

Some of the arguments for abortion as well as those against it are entirely irrelevant to the case. What difference does it make whether the child was conceived through rape or not? What difference does it make whether or not you have a book that says “Thou shalt not kill.” ? What difference does it make whether you call something tissue, an embryo, or fetus? What difference does the legality of abortion make?

I don’t like the term “pro-choice”. It implies that someone has a choice in the matter. Most of the time, neither the pregnant woman nor the baby inside her is given a choice.

It will take a lot more than changing a few laws or passing out free condoms to teenagers to stop abortion. It will require a change of mind unlike the world has ever seen. Not everyone believes that it can change, but they won’t be able to stop me and others from trying.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

