Why music is relevant


Music is a very hard thing to define. To say that one sound is music and another is not music would be irrational. I don’t set that standard but I will give my opinion for what it’s worth.

I will describe what I think music is and why it is relevant to me. Music is a form of art which is composed of sounds. Sounds can come from a variety of musical instruments. There is no objective way of deciding which sounds are better than another.

The most powerful musical instrument in my opinion is a drum. I used to take drum lessons and I care mostly about rhythm in what I listen to. This is the part that I find relevant. The right rhythm can turn me into a dancing fool. This is something that people who have seen me dance can easily tell you.

At the same time, I care nothing about the lyrics of most modern songs. I feel that words either spoken or sung by humans are irrelevant to the purity of the sounds of other instruments. The lyrics are not part of my definition of music but some of them would be powerful spoken apart from the other sounds.

I think that there is always some type of music which can be relevant to someone. The one exception is if you are deaf, then all sounds are completely irrelevant to you.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

