Why punishment is irrelevant


Have you ever thought about the act of punishing someone? What exactly does it mean? It seems to have no clear definition because a punishment can be anything. Usually someone is punished because someone does something that another person does not like. The type of punishment can range from spanking to crucifixion. The question I have is what benefit comes from a punishment? If whatever crime or sin a person has done has caused harm to someone else, then they could try to repair the damage they have done. This is called correction, not punishment.

The trouble comes when something is done that cannot be repaired. If someone is murdered or raped, no amount of work on the part of the offender comes close to fixing the problems they have caused. What can be done about this? This is something that bothers me.

I feel that I have done some damage in the past by things I have said or done. Mostly, it has been ignorance and fear that led me to do things that I did not want to do. As far as I know, I have not done anything which causes permanent damage to anyone. Those who have completely ruined or destroyed the life of another may feel bad, but what can they do? I think that the only cure for some things is to prevent them from happening in the future.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Why punishment is irrelevant”

Leave a Reply

