Why going to a church is irrelevant


There is no clear definition of what a “church” is supposed to be. Usually, it refers to a building which is used once or twice a week. For every other place that I could think of going, there is a reason. For example, if I want to buy food, I would go somewhere that sells it. If I want to read books, I would go to a library or a bookstore. If I want to pet a sheep, I would go to a petting zoo. All of these things make perfect sense.

But in the case of church, someone has to first know what church is for. Suppose someone decides that they want to know what a church is about. Which church do they choose to visit? How do they make this choice when they know nothing about any of them?

I have attended a variety of protestant Christian churches. There came a time when I knew that I had no reason for going. I either had no idea what they meant by their teachings or I disagreed with them. To keep going and pretending that I believed in the same things as them would have been dishonest.

I know that I will never completely agree with anyone else about everything. I see no reason why I should try to be a clone of someone else or why I should turn them into a clone of me. I see church as nothing more than a box that people try to fit into. When they do not fit into it, they wonder what is wrong with them. I used to feel that way and I do not want to feel it ever again.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

