Why education is relevant


When I say “education”, I mean any sort of teaching, training, or instruction of any kind. I think what people forget is that teaching is more than just telling people what to do or not to do. Lecturing has no effect unless you can demonstrate that you can put what you say into practice. Does it make sense for anyone to call themselves an English teacher if they cannot read or write? Does it make any sense for them to call themselves a math teacher if they cannot at least balance their checkbook? Not everyone is a teacher, but everyone is educating someone in some way.

When people talk about education, they usually think of a school building where children are forced to attend whether or not they have any interest. I personally am against a lot of what goes on in public or private schools. It may be right for some children but only if it is run by people who care more about the children than how much money is being spent.

There is no “one size fits all” approach to education. There are too many factors to be considered for someone to say that home-school, private-school, or public-school is the best solution for everyone.

If you are a parent who is thinking about the best education for your child, here are my opinions. I was home-schooled. I am biased towards home-schooling, but I try to be fair when I give my advice.
First, you need to consider what the purpose of education is! If all you care about is whether your child will be able to get a job and earn money when they grow up, then you should completely ignore my advice. In my opinion, education is not about money.

To me, education is about bringing out the natural talent that a person has. I am in favor of whatever is needed for a child or adult to do what they like in a way that is relevant to them and other people around them.

In my case, I happened to have a mother who had a lot of experience in teaching music and had already home-schooled my two siblings. Even during the short time I attended public elementary school, my mother had to help me learn how to do my schoolwork. The teachers at the public school I attended did not even know how to teach me to read. My mom taught me phonics. I am sure that it is relevant to me being the writer I am now. I also am not naturally a social person and so I was bullied by students and teachers because I did not think or learn in the way they wanted me to.

But for those who are social and who fit in and need to learn in a way that a parent may not be able to provide, I am extremely thankful that public or private schools exist.

I think that the only way to decide what is best for your child is to explore all the options available to you. Your child should have some choice, too.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Why education is relevant”

  1. This was a great post. Most striking to me out of this entire piece is this:
    ‘Not everyone is a teacher, but everyone is educating someone in some way.’ – You are absolutely right.

    Whether we like it or not every single thing we do teaches our children something. I guess the message there is to be aware of your behaviour – not just in relation to supporting ‘formal education’ – but your behaviour in life! Life is about so much more that the mathematics problems a child can’t figure out, or the Straight A’s they get in English.

    Thank you again for sharing your insights 🙂

    ML
    x

Leave a comment