Why Hy-Vee is relevant


My job at Hy-Vee is one of the major things that taught me what it means to be relevant. For a business to function, all of the employees and products that are sold must be connected, linked, and related in all the correct ways. This basically means that everything is relevant.

Customers expect to be able to find and buy what they are looking for. The way this is done is that every employee does whatever their job is to make sure that everything is available.

Because I am a Courtesy Clerk, I am involved in many different things. I sack the groceries, bring the carts back in the store, replace the trash bags, take products back to the shelf when the customer decides that they no longer want them, and clean up any messes that happen.

I consider my job to be very relevant to the store. It makes me feel very relevant to the employees and customers that I work with.

Through this job I learned something that others may have missed. Life is not about money, or even about the food that is bought with it. It is about the people alive on this planet. Without the people, there would be no one to eat or drink anything. There would be no use for the money that is spent on the food, cars, and entertainment. I learned how to be relevant to the people and how to communicate with them. Working in a grocery store is one way to learn this.

My job at Hy-Vee is a major part of my life. Like all other areas of my life, I am honest about it. I do not make any claim to agree with everything that happens in any business. People are not always easy to get along with. Sometimes they irritate me when they complain about irrelevant details.

But I am extremely grateful that my first job happened to be one where the majority of the people are able to put aside their differences and work as a team. I know that I would not leave for another job even if it paid more. I know that money cannot buy happiness, even though it can buy Pepsi, which is pretty much the same thing.

I often encounter people who told me that they quit working at Hy-Vee because they thought they were not paid enough. There may be valid reasons that someone needs to change jobs but money is entirely irrelevant.

Ask a customer. Do you think that they care about how much the employees are paid? They most likely do not know nor do they need to. What they do care about is how relevant employees make them feel, and about food. I see this and I hope that I am setting a good example in the way I work my job.

I know that friendly employees are the main advantage Hy-Vee has over other grocery stores. Without friendly and helpful employees Hy-Vee would fade away into oblivion. It would become irrelevant.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

