Why choice is relevant


Does anyone think about what it means to choose? Imagine that I have a house and I am deciding what color to paint the walls of a room. By what system do I decide what color is the right choice? After I have decided what color I want, the next step is to buy some paint of that color. This may work, but imagine that all the paint stores that I am able to walk to do not have the color I wanted? In this case, my choice to paint walls the color I wanted was destroyed. Sure, I made the choice, but circumstances prevented me from doing what I wanted. I would simply have to choose from the colors that were available, or leave the walls unpainted. But this whole example is irrelevant because I do not own a house.

In my mind, there is nothing wrong with people making choices about the colors, shapes, and materials they use for their creative activities. But what about when someone decides that it is their business to stop someone else from choosing what they want? I choose to let others choose for themselves what they do.

But make no mistake, I am not pro-choice when it comes to abortion. I oppose abortion because I do not think that anyone with a rational mind really wants to murder the innocent. When they do this, it is based on circumstances which they did not “choose”. In my mind, “pro-choice” should mean the same as “pro-life”, but I do not call myself pro-choice because I would be misunderstood.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

One thought on “Why choice is relevant”

  1. Great insight. It’s important to help abortion-seeking women realize that what they need is not just freedom of choice, but the freedom to choose what is good.

Leave a Reply

