Why forgetfulness is irrelevant


I had something in mind earlier about what I was going to write about forgetfulness. By this time I have forgotten it. I will do my best to explain what it means to forget so that I do not forget how to explain my forgetfulness.

To forget something means that I lose the connection that I once had with something. The most common example is that I forget the names of people, including those I have known for a long time. It drives me absolutely crazy that I can remember exactly what a person looks like, where I met them, or sometimes even their birthday, but when it comes to their name, I cannot think of it. When this happens, I sometimes check my friends list on Facebook. Since Facebook is full of “faces” which I remember, I can then try to reconnect the face with the name.

Writing helps me remember the things that are relevant to me. I can go back and look at something I wrote. I do not even remember writing some things. I know I did it but depending on my mood, I can write things at one time that I may no longer agree with by the next day. This is one of the irrational experiences of being a writer. I wonder if this happens to anyone else.

Anything forgotten becomes irrelevant to those who no longer remember it. This is why I hope that no one delays in writing down what they have learned in their life.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

