Why some truth is irrelevant


I am certainly not against people seeking the truth, but I have learned that something being proven true still does not make it relevant.

For example, I once saw a magazine cover that was advertising “Jeans that make your butt look good”. I do not care whether the claim is true or false. This is completely irrelevant to my life because my butt is behind me where I cannot see it without the help of a mirror.

Imagine a situation where someone I know claims that a voice told them that I would die in seven days. If they can tell me exactly what is going to kill me, then at least I could take precautions to avoid that. But a more important question is: Why didn’t the voice say it directly to me? I would think the claim was false, but it is still relevant. It is relevant because if after eight days, I am still alive, then I can tell them that the voice they heard was wrong.

The main message is that truth or falseness of any statement is sometimes irrelevant. If it is irrelevant, then I care nothing about its truth. If it is relevant, then I would work toward finding evidence for its truth.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

