Why adjectives are relevant


An adjective is a word that describes something else. For example, colors such as red, green, or blue usually describe the color of an object. An adjective is in a type of label which is applied to a noun. I have already written about why labels are irrelevant, but there are a few times when they can actually help.

When you are buying canned food, you expect the label on the can to tell you what type of food that can contains. This may be corn, peas, carrots, beans, or something else. You may be thinking “corn is a noun!”. According to dictionaries you would be right, but at the same time, corn is also an adjective because it is describing a type of food.

But when you think about it, aren’t all words adjectives? Even those words we call nouns are still only a word. Words are used as a symbol for something. At the same time, a word could be considered a thing and called a noun. How does one make a distinction between an an adjective or a noun? It is too confusing for me.

But the point is that adjectives usually are relevant to the words they are meant to describe. There is a difference between a small black metal ball and a big red rubber ball. Both are a ball but the adjectives tell the differences.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

1 thought on “Why adjectives are relevant”

  1. Hey i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I discover It seriously helpful & it helped me out significantly. I hope to give something back and aid other people as you aided me.

Leave a Reply

