Why humor is irrelevant


I have been trying to solve the mystery of humor. What exactly causes people to laugh? One thing that I do know is that a person laughs when something is said or done that they did not expect. Usually, this is the result of poor communication.

Whether a person thinks something is funny is entirely irrelevant to the truth or relevance of it. Some things are funny because they are true, some are funny because they are false. As long as you know the difference, no harm can come from it. There is nothing funny about intentionally deceiving people.

Often humor comes about as an accident. I mean to say something and yet when I talk, it does not come out the way I intended. It made perfect sense before I said it, but because my thoughts of English words are much slower than thoughts about numbers and shapes, I have to speak first and then figure out what I meant by what I said. I suppose this is why people laugh whenever I am talking.

But my inability to speak quickly and clearly is more than made up for by my ability to spend one or two hours on the things I write. It may only take you a few minutes to read my short essays, but it takes a lot longer to write them.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

