Why speed is irrelevant


I am not the kind of person who likes to hurry. I like to be on my own time. I am slow to understand almost every subject. I care a lot more about whether something is done correctly than whether it is done fast or not.

If at any time I feel like I am being rushed, I get very upset. This is why I often refuse to accept car rides from people. I am scared of things that move fast because often speed results in people getting hurt. The reason car crashes injure people is because they are moving fast. The bullets inside a gun are completely harmless. Only when they are fired at high speed do they have the power to hurt or kill something.

Besides being harmful, speed also causes people to miss the point. If you try to read a book as fast as possible, you may miss something that is required for understanding the rest of the book.

Sometimes video and audio recordings have the advantage of causing people to slow down and listen to things at the speed at which they were recorded. However, it also requires people to pay attention to what is being said. Anyone who is patient enough to watch a documentary film could easily read a book. If they are blind, then they need an audio recording made by someone who speaks slowly and clearly enough to understand.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

