Why the declaration of independence is relevant


The declaration of independence is relevant to me because it reveals something about history the country I have grown up in. The following is a quote from the beginning of it.

“When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.
We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

A lot is said in this. The language of it is very different from what I have grown up hearing. Understanding it requires an accurate understanding of the Laws of Nature, Nature’s God, Life, Liberty, and Happiness. I am not sure if I can claim to know exactly what the writers meant by these terms, but it is something that I will try to learn.

Independence is what allows me the “liberty” to be relevant and irrelevant at the same time. To relate to others without having to agree with everything they say and do. Some irrelevance or independence is what brings me “happiness” in my “life”.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

