Why reverence is irrelevant


Reverence can mean either respect or fear. To me, respect is incompatible with fear. For example, I can say that respect, honor, admire, or appreciate my mother. I do not have these feeling for my father. The only emotion I ever felt was fear. I was afraid of what cruel thing he would say or do to my mother.

Respect connects me with something or someone that has proven to be very relevant. I could say that I am reverent to objects such as food, geometric shapes, computers, or books. I am also reverent to the people that I have seen are honest and try to connect with people. The relevant people mentioned on my blog such as my mother, Jesus, and Christopher Hitchens are people that I have reverence for because I have respect for the relevance of their actions.

Fear disconnects me from things that I am afraid of. I am afraid of things that I know are likely to hurt me or hurt other people. In this way, fear is the exact opposite of respect. A person tries to run away from what they know has either the power or motivation to hurt them.

Since respect unites and fear divides, I can not use them to mean the same thing. This is why I say that reverence is irrelevant. I avoid saying that something is reverent or irreverent because the meaning can be easily misunderstood. Respect and fear are both emotional responses to my experience of things. I do not decide to respect or disrespect anything or anyone. I just try to be aware of my emotions.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

