Why pro-life atheists are relevant


The direction of my life changed when I found out that there were many pro-life atheists out there. Looking back, I wonder why I assumed that there were none. Christopher Hitchens was the first I knew about but there are many others. With the power of the internet, I plan to learn all I can about what they are doing.

Finally theists and atheists found something that they can agree on! The reason I choose to write about pro-life atheism is because it is something that people are not as educated about. It was also a revelation to me that belief in supernatural invisible people in no way changes how someone feels about life.

There was a day when I first encountered the website: “http://www.numberofabortions.com/”. Faced with the information of just how bad it was, I could no longer stay silent about it. I would never forgive myself if I did. On that day I decided that there was no possibility of changing this problem by debate, prayer, or protest. People have already done those things for years and yet it has not stopped over one billion babies from being killed. That is not even counting the illegal uncounted abortions. Few people are honest enough with themselves to admit that this is a problem which affects them and that will not go away by ignoring it.

Most of the people in the pro-life movement have been Christians who have damaged their own efforts by teaching that those who do not belief in their God or Jesus in the correct way are going to burn in an eternal fire called hell.

The idea that somehow believing a certain religious doctrine determines an afterlife is offensive to all who had not chance to even hear of it. Think of all those who have died before birth in an abortion or miscarriage. Because of the irrationality of such a claim, I have decided that I place higher value on action than belief. I also can not even think of a way that an afterlife is possible or something that I want. I don’t want myself or anyone else to be tortured after death anymore than I want them tortured in this life.

I have meditated on the meaning of my life and have decided that my life is an awkward stage between conception and death. I do not take it as seriously anymore now that I know I will not get out of it alive.

I desire that theist pro-lifers unite with the atheist pro-lifers instead of fighting about the existence of a God or gods. I got bored with such irrelevant debates. No longer can humanity afford to waste time and money on such things.

My opinion is that pro-life atheists are relevant to me in my personal fight against abortion because they often are more honest and have learned more about science and history than other people allow themselves to.

Becoming an atheist, agnostic, or deist will not change their opinion on abortion. I learned this when I accidentally became a pro-life atheist. If the other pro-life atheists all “come out of the closet”, the world will see a change.

Here are some links to things other pro-life atheists have written.

http://www.fnsa.org/fall98/reed.html

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/friendlyatheist/2014/03/11/yes-there-are-pro-life-atheists-out-there-heres-why-im-one-of-them/

http://www.lifenews.com/2012/02/28/confessions-of-a-pro-life-atheist-why-i-fight-abortion/

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

4 thoughts on “Why pro-life atheists are relevant”

  1. “Finally theists and atheists found something that they can agree on!”
    Not all theists are pro-life actually. Sometimes it’s harder to talk with them than the secular ones because they believe “God” will send their child to heaven directly, or that it’s soul will reincarnate at another time, so abortion is not really that bad.
    I’m like…”no, that-uhm, that’s not really how, uh, how things work”. Death is serious business because of it’s permanency, both secular and religious pro-choice are sort of flippant about it, or will say things like “the fetus wouldn’t care” (which is flippancy).

    1. Correct, there are many pro-choice theists. They make me completely crazy.

      I am not the type who wants to force atheism on people, but if they are believing things that they use to justify abortion, I have motivation to deconvert them from belief in a pro-death God.

      1. How would you go about doing that? I also don’t want to coerce people to leave their religion or God but if someone’s beliefs are actually validating hurting others then I’m not sure what other option I can take. Same goes for homophobia, circumcision, honor-killing, etc.

      2. I am upset that sometimes abortion and war is often claimed to be God’s will. I think this is a problem for the atheist and theist.

        I also dislike homophobia.

Leave a Reply

