Why feeling is relevant


It is good to use the mind and think about the reasons why something happened or what is the best thing to do in a situation, but often this process doesn’t work because it is just too slow. Most of the time I am not in a hurry, but when I know that time is short, I need to take action immediately.

Consider the case of a house that is on fire and it is too big to put out. It is not time to find out the cause of the fire or to predict who will burn or not. The priority is for everyone inside to get out of the house. When you are in a burning building, rationality is irrelevant. All that matters is that burning feels bad. Most people know this not because anyone told them but they have been burned by something before and don’t like it. A person’s action in this case will be one based on feeling, and probably is more likely to save your life than going to Wikipedia and reading that fire is “the rapid oxidation of a material in the exothermic chemical process of combustion“.

I am not the most emotional type of person. The upside is that I can often think about things in a different way than other people. When I feel that I must do something, I do it even though it seems irrational to me or other people.

Similarly, when I see images of aborted babies, I no longer care about those who provide reasons for why it is necessary. Good and bad is not something I know, it is something I feel. Feeling is relevant and without it, rationality is irrelevant.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

