Why creationism is irrelevant


Most of the time, creationism refers to the belief in the creation stories in the book of Genesis. I don’t have a problem with people believing this if they want to, but I will explain why I do not.

Chapter 1 of Genesis describes God creating things by just speaking. It does not explain who God is talking to. Also, I don’t think that this God is involved today in the world. I can’t prove or disprove whether God exists but I can be sure that God has not given me answers to the questions I have. I do not expect humans to give me the answers because I would expect God to be able to speak to me directly and answer all the questions I have. Until this happens I have no foundation for believing anything other that what I can see, hear, feel, taste, or smell.

I can say nothing about creationism except explain that I don’t believe the biblical creation myth. I don’t know if the earth was created or why someone would want to create it or the life on it.

But the main problem I have with the book of Genesis is that it is full of things that are irrelevant and false. For example, God told Adam that the day he ate from the tree of knowledge of good and evil, he would die. This is not true according to the story. Adam and Eve both ate from it. Later on we find out that Adam lived 930 years and that Eve lived to be at least 130 years old to give birth to Seth. Adam didn’t “begat” Seth by himself.

Here are quotes from the King James Version of the book of Genesis to show the contradiction about death.

“And the Lord God commanded the man, saying, Of every tree of the garden thou mayest freely eat: But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it:for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die.” – Genesis 2:16-17

“And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die: For God doth know that in the day ye eat thereof, then your eyes shall be opened, and ye shall be as gods, knowing good and evil. And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat. And the eyes of them both were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together, and made themselves aprons.” – Genesis 3:4-7

“And all the days that Adam lived were nine hundred and thirty years:and he died.” – Genesis 5:5

The only way that all these verses can be considered true is to admit that God was wrong and the Serpent was right. Aside from that, no knowledge of good or evil came from eating the fruit. All they learned was that they were naked. Nakedness is irrelevant to good or evil.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

