Why defense is relevant


When I call myself pro-life, I must explain every detail of what I mean so that no one is confused. Does this mean that I would never hurt or kill any form of life at any time? No. There are cases when I might possibly hurt or kill if it was to protect the life of someone else or myself. This is ONLY in the case of extreme situations where there is no time to think.

Imagine that I am walking down the street and I see a man hitting his son with a baseball bat repeatedly. This is not the time to stand there and debate with myself in my head about what the right thing to do is. What would I do in this situation? How should I know? At such a time, the mind is useless. Trying to be scientific, philosophical, or rational will not work. During the time I waste, the son of the mad batter will be hurt or even killed if nothing is done soon enough.

All I can know is that I would instantly be horrified at what I was seeing. I would definitely act. If I intervened, chances are that both the little boy and I would both be beaten to death with a baseball bat. There is the small chance that I could grab the bat and hit the man on the head hard enough to knock him into a coma. There is the chance that I could grab the boy and run him to safety. I could also try to call the police once the immediate threat has passed. Whether the police do anything or what they do is out of my control. I can’t predict the future, but I would still try to stop the damage I saw being done.

A moral relativist will tell me: Chandler, it is not your place to judge people for their actions or tell them who they can or cannot hurt with a bat, gun, knife, or anything else. Quit forcing your morality on people!

I will simply ignore them. My sense of relevance, love, compassion, empathy, or whatever you call it is what will decide my actions when I don’t have the time to think.

Is it bad to hit your son with a bat? Yes. Is it bad to hit the person who is hitting their son with a bat? Yes. Is it bad to do absolutely nothing and let the son of the mad batter beat his son to death? Yes.

Whether or not legal action is taken against someone is irrelevant to the case. This is a moral issue. The issue at hand is: What is wrong with the person who started hitting their son with a bat? What can be done to prevent this from happening again?

By the time something bad is happening, it is too late. Someone will be hurt. No matter what happens at this point is bad. All that we can do is prevent more harm from happening. How this is to be done is something people need to work together on.

There are times when killing may be necessary, but there is no way that all of the killing done by abortion, wars, or even accidents had to happen. Also, just because something becomes necessary does not make it good.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

