Definition of life


If people are to understand why I am pro-life, they must know what life is.

I never thought I would see the day when people disagree about what life is. Not only do they have different definitions of life but they also argue about what “kind” of life an unborn human child is.

I want to move past what kind of life something is because that is only a distraction from life itself. I know what life is. You know it too but you may not admit it. If you are reading this I can bet that you are alive. Someone is either alive or dead.

The relevance between all living things is that they can grow and move by their own will. This makes all animals the same. I am one of those animals and so are you.

The plants are also alive, but from what I can see, they are food. Not once have I seen a plant that has tried to run away when I eat it. If you find one, it may not be a plant.

Something which is not alive is dead. My laptop which I have written this on is dead. It does not move or act unless a living animal like me first turns it on. When I am done with it, I turn it off. I expect it to be in the same place it was when I left it. This is not so with animals which are alive.

I know that my definition of life is extremely simplified, but I do not want to waste my “life” formulating a big scientific definition because it would not be understood by anyone. Aside from that, I know almost nothing about biology.

I will not live long enough to understand everything about life. What I do know is that my life had a beginning and it will have an end.

After something dies, it cannot be brought back to life. The one exception to this would be if there was a god with the power of resurrection. I can’t say anything about whether this is true or not, but it would be the only exception to the law of death.

A basic understanding of life is best understood when someone comes to understand death. Death is the permanent end of the ability of an animal to do whatever it did while alive.

My definition of life is very basic. It does not describe what an animal should do. It only states that it does something. What that something is will change based on the choices and physical ability of that animal.

My advice to you is to think about your life and future death. Be the best animal you can be!

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

