Why Jainism is relevant


Jainism is an old religion with a focus on non-violence. Since non-violence is something I already agree with, it seems logical that I look into it. I would imagine that it would be safer to be around a group of Jainists than those of another religion which promotes war and animal sacrifice.

Ahimsa is the ethic of non-violence. Those who think that all life is valuable, sacred, holy, or relevant are not likely to kill something when it can be avoided. Jains are vegetarian. They often also don’t eat root vegetables such as potatoes or carrots. I don’t think that I would go quite that far.

Satya is the ethic of speaking the truth unless doing so could result in violence. In that case it is better to be silent.

Asteya is the ethic of not stealing. It is bad to take anything which is not willingly offered.

I already agreed with the idea of not killing, hurting, lying, or stealing. That is the general thing I look at when studying a philosophy, religion, or any individual.

While reading about Jainism, there was something else that interested me. Jainists also believe that the universe has always existed and did not need to be created. I think this makes a lot more sense than other ideas I have heard.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

