Arguments against contraception


I had mentioned that I saw logical problems with birth control. Someone asked me: “Chandler, what are your logical oppositions? I’ve only ever heard opposition stemming from religion?”

The question was interesting because I guess it is uncommon for people to argue against contraception without a belief in any gods. I have written about this subject before, but this is the first time someone specifically was interested. I will try to explain clearly why I tend to favor abstinence over contraception.

My strongest argument is that birth control costs money. Abstinence is free. The reason that this is the strongest case I can make is that it is independent of the beliefs of anyone. It is just a fact.

My second problem with birth control is that sometimes things go wrong. Women get pregnant and then claim that it was an “accident”. This sends the message that someone believed, falsely, that they could not get pregnant if they used whatever forms of contraception they were using. Abstinence is still superior because it never fails.

Another problem I have with birth control is one that applies only to hormones taken by women to reduce their fertility. I see hormonal birth control as anti-woman because men would never be willing to put that stuff in their bodies, but they expect women to. I am concerned about the health risks that come with any medication, especially one that is not necessary. Since there are no risks involved in not having sex, abstinence remains the most logical choice. Other forms of contraception, such as condoms, I don’t really see anything wrong other than my first two arguments that all contraception is a waste of money and is not 100% effective.

But the reason I even considered writing about this topic is because it is a very hotly debated topic between some of my pro-life friends and I think that this conflict also needs to end because it divides people.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

14 thoughts on “Arguments against contraception”

  1. There are many forms of contraception that does not include hormones and these come in both pill form and implant form. But, as you say, those do have their risks. For example, a cousin of mine got a copper (I think) IUD. This has no hormones in it. Something about the copper makes the uterus unhospitable somehow. Unfortunately, I don’t know too much. My impression is that it prevents the egg from attaching to the side of the uterus or something like that. Anyway, she got an infection from it and had to have it removed.

    I have heard arguments like yours before for the same reasons. It’s just an unnecessary substance and women/girls are taking it at younger and younger ages. That said, I think it’s unrealistic to expect people to abstain from sex if they don’t want children. We’re just not built that way. Further, around the world access to contraceptives has greatly decreased poverty levels. It allows women – married or otherwise – to plan out their children. They don’t have to be out of work as long and they are better able to afford for all their children to go to school. These children, now all educated, now face a better chance of avoiding poverty all together. Sure, contraceptives may not be the healthiest thing in the world, but you can make the same argument for vaccines. The fact is, people are willing to take a risk to reduce circumstances they don’t want to deal with.

    Lastly, while I have no problem with people being against contraceptives, I do think people have a right to take them if they so choose. May pro-lifers think they are killing a fetus, but they all stop pregnancy before even a zygote exist. Even Plan B only works if a woman is not pregnant yet. If a Zygote already exist, Plan B won’t do a thing to it.

    1. Thanks for your comment. I am sure that some people are not as concerned about risks as I am. If any of the forms of contraception are proven to be 100% effective, then I could sort of understand the reasoning behind using it.

      What I would question you on is when you said: “That said, I think it’s unrealistic to expect people to abstain from sex if they don’t want children. We’re just not built that way.”

      I don’t believe you of course being a 27 year old virgin with a mother who has been celibate since my parents divorced when I was 5. Therefore, it seems that people who are unable to abstain from sex have something wrong with them. It looks like a lack of self control. That is how my experience has led me to think about it anyhow.

      1. I didn’t say it wasn’t possible, but people simply aren’t going to buy the idea they should stop having sex unless they wish to procreate. I’ve know particularly religious people who felt that way and had it ruin their marriage. Sex is important to relationships outside the desire to have children.

        According to my doctor, contraception (or at least the one I use) is 100% effective when taken as prescribed. This means I need to take it every day and the exact same time. I have friends who take the same stuff whenever they go to bed, be that 8pm or 2am. That behavior is what takes the stats down to 97%, which is still pretty good as far as I’m concerned.

        Either way, I have no problem promoting the idea one should avoid sex unless they have the desire to procreate, but I would be against such a thing ever becoming law. There’s no way I could ever get behind a law that sought to control such a personal part of people’s lives.

    2. “I didn’t say it wasn’t possible, but people simply aren’t going to buy the idea they should stop having sex unless they wish to procreate. I’ve know particularly religious people who felt that way and had it ruin their marriage. Sex is important to relationships outside the desire to have children.”

      You may be right that most people will not choose abstinence as I have, but I am glad you realize it is possible. Tell me more about why sex is important for relationships.

      Also, marriages between religious people are doomed right from the start in my opinion.

      “Either way, I have no problem promoting the idea one should avoid sex unless they have the desire to procreate, but I would be against such a thing ever becoming law.”

      I agree with you on that point. I don’t think that it would be practical to outlaw every method of contraception.

      My question to you is: if for some reason your contraception failed and you found out today that you were pregnant, what would you do?

      1. I suppose that would depend on a variety of factors, but I don’t believe life starts at conception, so If I found out early enough I’d probably have an abortion. If, however, I found out when I was 6 or 7+ months along, I’d go along with it. That said, any number of factors in my life could change to affect that decision. It’s not something I’d just choose willy nilly. There would be serious thought involved before anything happened.

      1. I don’t know that it ever really changed. I accepted the idea blindly through religion at one point, but was still never really against it. Even if I accept the idea there’s a human soul at conception, I can’t ignore the fact the woman should also have a choice.

        And as I looked further into science, it became clear a fetus has less brain activity than that of a brain dead person until around the 23rd week.

        Lastly, on a spiritual level, it seems hard to believe that any merciful god would just create life to be destroyed. A significant number of pregnancy end in miscarriages and many happen before the woman even knows she’s pregnant. Seems hard to believe a soul would come and go from the world with no purpose like that. I’m not really sure where life begins, but I have a feeling a soul may enter the body at different stages, depending on a wide range of factors.

    3. “I don’t know that it ever really changed. I accepted the idea blindly through religion at one point, but was still never really against it. Even if I accept the idea there’s a human soul at conception, I can’t ignore the fact the woman should also have a choice.”

      I think that both the existence of a soul and choice are questionable. It seems that choice has somehow become a “fact”. That I am curious about.

      “Lastly, on a spiritual level, it seems hard to believe that any merciful god would just create life to be destroyed. A significant number of pregnancy end in miscarriages and many happen before the woman even knows she’s pregnant. Seems hard to believe a soul would come and go from the world with no purpose like that. I’m not really sure where life begins, but I have a feeling a soul may enter the body at different stages, depending on a wide range of factors”

      The interesting thing about this that interests me is that I have no clue what a soul is or how it could come and go. My mother tried to explain something about the body+soul+spirit being three parts of a person, but now I actually am pretty sure that the body is all that I can know exists.

      Because of my lack of belief in an afterlife, I found myself becoming more pro-life than I was before.

      Also, the reason that I oppose abortion is not just because I see it as the murder of a small baby. There is also the chance that something can go wrong during abortions and kill the mother as has happened before. Aside from that, abortion is really a money making scheme which is really enslaving women to a cycle of birth control and abortions.

      1. Actually, it’s safer to have an abortion, especially in the early stages, than to go through pregnancy. Pregnancy doesn’t come without its own risks an complications.

        And I don’t think that cycle exist as you see it. Birth control simply allows women to plan out their pregnancies. Most who use it are married women who already have at least one child.

      2. Actually, you are right about pregnancy having its own risks and complications. This fact of course leads me to avoid sex even more.

        However, since abortion is the killing of a baby, I cannot help but notice that the one being killed is not exactly safe.

        But here is one more question: If you had an abortion, who is going to pay for it?

      3. Tax payers aren’t paying for it. Dollars going to women’s health clinics are not allowed to be used for those procedures and/or medications.

Leave a Reply

