Why a pro-life atheist?


I must explain clearly why I let people know I am both pro-life and atheist. Both are equally important to understand. If I say I am pro-life, people will automatically assume that it is for “religious” reasons. I am not nor can I ever be part of the Catholic Church which has been the main force against abortion.

If abortion is bad, then it is certainly bad no matter what your religious affiliation. If it is good, then the Catholic Church and any other religious organization which opposes it has been wrong. So as you can see, either being for or against abortion means that you disagree with tons of people. This is why people have tried to find a middle ground or third alternative.

There are people who believe they can convince me to be pro-choice about abortion. I will quickly dispose of this absurd fantasy. There are two positions that exist in relation to abortion. You can be anti-abortion or you can be pro-abortion. It must be one of the two for there can be no neutral position. To be pro-choice means nothing. Which “choice” are you “pro” for.

This is once again similar to the absurd belief in free will. Any event must either be caused or uncaused. If the basketball is caused to fall through the hoop by a person throwing it, then the person is the direct cause of this event. If you see the basketball go through the hoop but see no agent throwing it, you may conclude that it happened for no reason or you may say the Invisible Pink Unicorn kicked it.

If you say that the basketball chose of it’s own free will to go through the hoop, then you must answer the question: why did it jump into the hoop? If you say that it chose to jump into the hoop because it wanted to, then I ask: why did it want to? You can say that its creator made it in such a way that it would desire to jump into the hoop. If that is the case, why did the creator make it so? No matter how many answers you give, I can always ask the reason for that reason.

Some people get tired of this and just say there is no reason something happened. That means they are an indeterminist. They believe that some things have no cause. As a determinist I will ask them how something can happen without being caused. The real joke is that an uncaused event can’t be caused by anything including the will of a human, god, or a basketball.

But what does this have to do with abortion? As I said, you are anti-abortion or pro-abortion. I do not believe that this issue is one where someone can honestly be neutral on. I can’t say “I don’t really care whether people are killing their babies or not”. I just can’t do it.

This means that my behavior is rather predictable and that I will generally be against anything that I think might be used as a reason for abortion. This is why I get tired of people telling women that they are evil, sinful, a slut, and going to hell for the crime of having sex. Many people tend to have extremely negative views about sex, pregnancy, and babies. I generally want to do anything that opposes these negative attitudes which are primarily aimed at unmarried mothers. Maybe if these women knew that society would help them take care of their children, they might feel like they have to kill them before birth.

Generally I have noticed that atheists don’t treat women as badly as fundamentalist Christians. For this reason I think that abortion will decrease as more people leave religions that promote misogyny.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

