Thoughts on changes in laws


After I left Christianity, I slowly lost the revenge/retribution form of “justice” that was taught to me. I don’t believe in capital punishment in the sense of execution.

Jail time, fines, and community service would still be useful sentences for deterring crime and for repairing damage done by criminals.

I think that killing criminals is a very dangerous thing to do because it is entirely possible for a person to be framed and convicted of a crime they did not actually do. Even if you know you have the right person, killing them does not help the victims of their crimes. Make them repay the individuals or families through financial means. It doesn’t fix everything but it is better than nothing.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on changes in laws”

  1. Laws and enforcement of such laws are not usually “justice” but they’re the best we have I guess.

    I personally would like to see no prisons at all for I don’t think they help society in general and they certainly don’t help prisoners become better people.

    Work camps for community service would be great though. Work during the week at your own job, pay your own bills and then show up for community service on the weekends and bring your own lunch.

    If people get tired enough and work hard enough they’ll either stop committing crimes… or stop getting caught committing crimes.

    I know, I know. This is not realistic and someone would always abuse the system be it criminals or those working the criminals like slaves (so really, more criminals).

    I think violent offenders (not clear cut self-defense) and sexual predators should be put down like the rabid animals they are.

    I know, I know. How do we really know who’s who? What if we’re wrong? I’ll tell you what though I’d probably sacrifice myself even if I was innocent if it meant that hundreds of bad men and women, rapists and murders, were removed from society after hurting only one child or adult instead of allowing them to continue to hurt thousands.

    Yeah, the current system sucks. Given how people treat each other any system we came up with would suck because we humans in general suck at this type of thing. It always goes too far or not far enough. :/

Leave a Reply

