Conversation with a Christian part 3


Christian: “Sir I am not about to buy a book to get a straight answer out of you, it is a yes or no question do we have free will?  Lets try to keep pro-life discussions for later.  first for our discussion we need solid ground on whether or not you think we have free will.  No matter what our genetics may or may not predispose us too our what is happening in our environments around us, do you not believe that we have the ability to think and act upon our own thoughts and desires?”

Chandler Klebs: Alright, I will give you a clear answer about the free will thing. Basically, we have no choice but to act on our desires. And we did not choose what desires we were born with. Nor can we pull new desires out of thin air. So the correct answer is that we don’t have the control over our lives that many people think we do. Free will is false. It is a myth based on ignorance. An illusion that is quickly destroyed by causality. Some people are unable to accept this, but I don’t blame them. After all, they don’t have a free will.

Most of the people who message me do not ask for explanations of what I mean. I am glad that you asked for clarification because I am not the best communicator. My mom can verify that.

Christian: “lol I won’t be going to your mom for any reason I repect you can speak well enough for her in this instance”

Chandler Klebs: You must be the sort of person who is genuinely interested in what people have to say.

Christian: I am looking up the scriptures to describe my belief that it is because of free will that Jesus says he can make us a new creation with new desires!”

Chandler Klebs: I see we are mutual friends with Kristine Kruszelnicki. That must be how you found me.

Christian: “this would of course be done through making us a new creation, which work is done by the Holy Spirit. Hence how someone who is made a new in the image and now spirit of God couldn’t bring themselves to have an abortion. Yes I actually spent some time with Kristine. We both lived in Ottawa and did some seminars together. Her prolife work from a humanist point of view is in itself a fascinating case study.”

Chandler Klebs: “That is awesome. I have never met her in person, but I watched her debate with Matt Dillahunty and have watched her pro-life activism since.”

Christian: “So the idea of the gospel is that we are not left to the devices of our own flesh anymore!  The good news is there is new life in Jesus with the same Helper, the Holy Spirit that helped Him accomplish the will of the heavenly Father in His own lifetime.”

Chandler Klebs: I have to ask what you mean when you talk about “devices of our own flesh”. It isn’t the first time I have heard it but I haven’t the slightest clue what it means.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

3 thoughts on “Conversation with a Christian part 3”

  1. “Basically, we have no choice but to act on our desires.”

    I’m new to the whole free will debate so forgive my ignorance but does the above statement apply to everyday life or just some weird and specific Atheist/Religious issue?

    From an everyday life point of view people DON’T actually act upon every desire they feel so I’m wondering exactly what this statement is supposed to mean.

    Mostly I’m just curious about what NOT having free will really means. Is it a specific Atheist/Religious argument or does the statement hold up if you take the issues of Atheism and Religion off the table?

    Thanks.

    1. It is not possible for us to act on every desire, but the strongest desire at any one time does win whenever there is a conflict.

      And this applies to human behavior every day no matter what your religious or non-religious belief.

      I would mention though that different religions have differing definitions of free will just as they have different definitions of God. That is why things get so confusing.

Leave a Reply

