Atheism is not the correct answer


A few years ago, I started calling myself atheist because I knew I no longer believed in god and I thought the title was descriptive enough for people to know what I meant by it. The problem however was that the real issue I have is not whether people believe in an invisible man in the sky who created them.

No, the problem goes much deeper. It is injustice defended by religious belief. The killing of living things is considered justified when god commands it. Animal sacrifice is a common practice in many religions. Also, many human wars are still fought today because people hate those who follow a different religion. It is the killing and the pain that is the real problem I wish to rid the world of.

So even if I actually believed there was a god who was behind the suffering that has happened, it would not really make a difference to me. If I am against violence such as killing cows, chickens, turkeys, pigs, humans, or penguins, then it matters not a bit to me if there was a god who caused it or not. The point is that I wish to stop people from hurting others. So even if god showed up and told me to slaughter a pig or donate to planned parenthood and fund killing the unborn, I wouldn’t do it. And if I am punished for this disobedience, then so be it. After all, even my disobedience was god’s will if god created me for the purpose of disobeying him.

So I need to stop wasting time explaining why the omnipotent and omniscient originator and ruler of the universe doesn’t exist. More important is that people understand that by being a pro-life vegan, I stand opposed to anyone who causes unnecessary suffering.

And that means ANYone.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

