A Secular System of Sexuality


It’s well known that nearly every religion has a very strict code defining who can have sex with who. This was something I never needed to worry about though since I was not having sex with anyone.

As my religious beliefs faded away, I was looking for a new system to live by. I wanted a moral code that made sense and I always stood by the idea that by necessity, there must be objective morality. It can’t be simply a subjective opinion, or otherwise it would just be an illusion.

I made a list of the things I considered to be bad, wrong, or evil. My list included killing, lying, stealing, raping and generally causing pain to someone. I could see the logic in causing a small amount of pain in order to prevent greater pain. For example pulling on the leash of a dog to keep it from running into the street and being hit by a car. I established reasons for why I believed each of these things were wrong. In general they all cause some sort of pain whether psychical or emotional.

However, other people had a different idea of morality. I soon learned that I no longer felt the same way about the many things that Christians labeled as a sin.

Gay marriage turned into a huge debate. I found it quite interesting that people had an issue with it. I wondered why people wanted to marry someone of the same gender but I had no argument against it. I also wondered why other people were getting angry at marriage being “redefined”.

It looked to me as if the fighting over the homosexuality and gay marriage debate was a distraction from bigger problems. I was actually more concerned with another issue entirely.

My concern was finding out that not only had abortion been legal in America since 1973, but that the federal government was actually funding it.

A dangerous question popped into my head: Why are the babies being conceived in the first place if they are only going to be intentionally killed?

And then I realized, those heterosexuals can’t stop sexing. They’re like addicted or something. My thought was: “Maybe it would be better if everyone was gay.”

The most important thing I noticed is that a secular person is able to look at at sexual orientations in terms of what causes them or perhaps more importantly, the effects on society as a whole. The bad news was that the majority of people were heterosexual. Anything seemed better than a system which caused massive reproduction of children who were inevitably going to suffer in this life which was full of sex but absent of love.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

8 thoughts on “A Secular System of Sexuality”

  1. Lol wow! Yea, evolution also has to cut down the baby factory production quotient somehow.
    You know the problem these religious folk have with sex? FLESH. Think about it, “Eat my flesh and drink my blood,” and “70 virgins…” They are addicted to fleshy longings. I sometimes look at them as a lower breed of human beings that have not still woken up from their carnal addictions.

      1. Lol! I hope our planet survives the seeming inevitability. Earth appears to be resilient, but then technology is expanding vastly.
        Humans would keep wanting more till it destroys us. More sex, more kids, more money, more industries, etc.

    1. Yes, rather than what makes sense for making a better world. That was what I couldn’t stand about it. I want what is practical and I came to see any homosexuality and asexuality as being a good thing. Sadly, these are the type of people the religious fundamentalists are most likely to kill off in their quest to make everyone heterosexual.

      1. Yeah I think a lot of it has to do with the difficulty of understanding and then categorizing different forms of sexuality. It’s complicated and people just want a simple and stereotypical world.

Leave a Reply

