What is the cause of this gayness?


Everything I was ever told about sexuality while growing up was shattered as soon as I realized that there was such a thing as homosexuality and same sex marriage.

Everything was based on the assumption that “God” designed sex for one man and one woman. Christians taught that sex should be exclusively for marriage. But what was marriage anyway? It looked silly to me.

More importantly, why did God make these other people attracted to people of the same gender? The secular answer I heard was that it was genetic. They were born that way. The religious answer was that they “chose” to be gay.

Which raises an interesting question: How does a person “choose” to be gay? Is there some experiment that I can perform to test this theory?

Before I could try my experiments, I had to figure our what my sexual orientation was. I assumed everyone had one and that they either felt that way about men or about women. But I was in for a surprise when I heard people identifying as bisexual or pansexual. So many new words! Just what am I?

Discovery of the term Asexuality

In my quest to learn what was going on with other people as well as myself, I did whatever any other modern American does: Go to YouTube!

I can’t remember the exact first time I must have heard the term Asexuality, but this video by Laci Green was memorable.

Her guest, David Jay, said something of interest. He said that asexuality is different than celibacy. Supposedly celibacy is a “choice”. That would later be of interest. In any case, I then knew about asexuality.org .

Most importantly, I knew the correct term. It makes perfect sense when you think about it. If an atheist lacks a belief in god, then an asexual lacks the sexual attraction that the majority of people have. I really was beginning to like words which started with A.

If only there was some way to turn the whole world asexual. That would be one of my wishes if there were a genie to grant them.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

