The Illusion of Celibate Choice


I have spent much time writing about and talking about the Illusion of Free Will, also known as “choice” by the majority of the world. Most people have accepted by now that no one chooses their sexual orientation. However, I would like to challenge the claim that celibacy is a choice.

Suppose someone takes a religious vow of celibacy. I would argue that this is something they were caused to do not by genetics, but caused by environment. If you are a Christian of some sort that has been taught that sex is some kind of evil sin of the flesh, you will be motivated to avoid it. This is true regardless of if you are heterosexual, homosexual, pansexual, bisexual, or whatever else there is.

Suppose there are two people. The asexual is the person who has no desire for sex. The celibate sexual is the person who has some desire but then has other reasons or desires that are more important.

If both people end up being virgins for life, then what is the difference between them? I’m only concerned with what actually does happen. People either will have sex or they will not. I’m not sure if the distinction between them has any relevance.

However I’m totally open to the opinions of others who disagree. Is there a valid difference between asexuality and celibacy or is it all an illusion?

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

6 thoughts on “The Illusion of Celibate Choice”

  1. To begin with off I would like to state excellent blog! I got an easy matter which kind of I’d like to inquire unless you worry about.
    I happened to be fascinated in order to learn how your center your self and also remove the mind just before crafting.
    I’ve had trouble clearing my own attention in enabling
    my personal mind out there. I actually do just take pleasures on paper however it just
    seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes include shed just trying to puzzle out how to start.
    Any guide or even advice? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

